The registration is now closed.

If you want to be part of the IPT 2016,

  • either your country already participates to the IPT, and you need to get in touch with your national representative
  • or your country is not yet competing in the IPT, and you need to get in touch with us through the contact form.

The countries already involved in the IPT are the following:

CountryContactNational WebsiteAffiliation
Flag_of_the_People' University University of Denmark
Flag_of_France.svgFrancefrance@iptnet.infofrance.iptnet.infoFrench Physical Society - various universities
Flag_of_Iran.svgIraniran@iptnet.infoiran.iptnet.infoAriaian Young Innovative Minds Institute - various universities of Warsaw Institute of Physics and Technology Technological University
Flag_of_Switzerland.svgSwitzerlandswitzerland@iptnet.infoswitzerland.iptnet.infoEPFL & University of Fribourg universities
30px-Flag_of_the_United_Kingdom.svgUnited of Nottingham

First-time Registration

If the country that hosts your university has not yet participated to the IPT, you can form a team on your own and directly contact us.

If more than one team apply in a country without a representative, the International Organising Committee takes the responsibility to organise a national selection. The teams must complete a written report outlining the solution to one problem selected from a possible three that will be taken from the official list selected by the IOC. The teams have 4 weeks after the registration deadline to send their written report. Each team is free to enclose his own experimental material and to cite it properly in the report.

The International Organising Committee may help the new participating countries to pay their entry fees to the tournament. However, the travel costs to and from the tournament location are the charge of the team.

Constitution of the teams

A team consists in a maximum of six students (only bachelor and master students – no PhD acccepted, sorry!), and two team leaders (PhD, Postdoc, or Professors).


The fees are 1000€ per team. The fees include housing, meals and some activities in Paris during the week of the tournament. The travel costs from and to the tournament have to be paid by the teams.

For any additional participant, a supplementary fee will must be paid by the sending university or the participant to cover his/her accommodation and living costs.


  • The deadline for registrations is 15th December 2015, 11:59 pm (GMT +1),
  • The deadline for payment of the registration fee is 31st December 2015, 11:59 pm (GMT +1).

If the LOC has not received the registration fee before the deadline, the fee may change (due to logistical considerations) or the team registration may be cancelled at the discretion of the LOC. If a preselection process is engaged, the deadline for the payment of the registration fee will be postponed accordingly.

Please note that the composition of the teams can be given after the registration or fee payment.

Preselection and registrations

A maximum of 15 teams can participate in the International Physicists’ Tournament. 4 seats are by default attributed to the previous edition’s finalists and to the host country. If more than 11 teams register for the remaining seats, the IOC will engage an international preselection procedure. If two or more teams from the same country register, the IOC will engage a national preselection procedure to determine which team will represent its country. If both national and international preselection procedures must be engaged, they will take place simultaneously, the best national team being automatically qualified for the international preselection.

You can find more informations about the preselection processes in the IPT Official Rules (Sect. 1.4).

Reserved seats :

  1. Ukraine Ukraine (IPT 2015 Winner)
  2. Denmark Denmark (IPT 2015 Finalist)
  3. France France (IPT 2015 Finalist)
  4. France France (IPT 2016 Host)

Registered participants (by registration date):

  1. France Winners of the French National Selection : École normale supérieure de Lyon.
  2. France Winners of the French National Selection : École normale supérieure de Paris.
  3. United States Harvard University (USA)
  4. Germany Winners of the German Selection
  5. Russian Federation Winners of the All Russia Tournament : Voronezh State University.
  6. United Kingdom University of Nottingham (UK)
  7. Iran, Islamic Republic of Winners of the Iran Physicists’ Tournament
  8. Switzerland Winners of  the Swiss National Selection : Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  9. Greece University of Crete (Greece)
  10. Australia University of Queensland (Australia)
  11. Colombia University of Los Andes (Colombia)
  12. Sweden Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden)
  13. China Nankai University (China)
  14. Denmark Technical University of Denmark – DTU (Denmark)
  15. Poland University of Warsaw (Poland)
  16. Ukraine Winners of the Ukrainian Selection : Lviv Polytechnic (Ukraine)
  17. Spain University of Madrid (Spain)

Last update : 2015/12/15

The registration is now closed.